The Curriculum at St Francesca Cabrini Catholic Primary School.

Your child's time at school is divided into three stages, each of which is outlined below.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) ages 3-5years.

In September 2000, the government established the Early Years Foundation Stage in recognition of the crucial importance of the early years in children's development. This stage begins at 3 years when children enter Nursery and finishes at 5 years when they leave the Reception class. We currently follow the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage 2014.

The Early Years Foundation Stage has its own curriculum which is arranged into seven areas of learning:

• Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

• Physical Development

• Communication and Language

• Literacy

• Mathematics

• Understanding the World

• Expressive Arts and Design

These feed into the three identified characteristics of effective learning unique to the Early Years Foundation Stage across all learning areas:

• Playing and Exploring – finding out and ‘having a go’

• Active Learning – motivation and concentration

• Creating and Thinking Critically – expressing their own ideas and choosing ways to do things

Children in Nursery progress through Age related Stages of Development, which identify developing knowledge, skills, understanding and attitudes. These Stages of development lead to Early Learning Goals which most children are expected to achieve by the end of their reception year.

The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum recognises that learning for young children should be a rewarding and enjoyable experience. They will be using all their senses to learn about the world around them and trying to make connections between new information and what they already know. Young children need time to explore, investigate and discover for themselves, as well as being introduced to specific, planned learning experiences when they will be guided and supported by an adult.

Key Stage 1 - 5-7 years; Key Stage 2- 7-11 years.

The introduction of the National Curriculum has ensured that every child benefits from a broad and balanced curriculum. It comprises of four core subjects: English, Mathematics, Science, Computing and six foundation subjects: Art, Geography, History, Music and Physical Education. We teach Religious Education throughout the school. English is taught in the daily Literacy lesson with additional opportunities for extended writing at other times in the school day. Mathematics is taught in the daily Numeracy lesson. The school also follows a Curriculum Plan which ensures that every child covers a variety of topics each year. The children's attainment is monitored and assessed at the end of each term to ensure continuity and progression in all the subjects. The school communicates the child's achievement in a report to parents at the end of each academic year. The children are formally tested at the end of each Key Stage; they are tested in Maths and English at KSl and Maths, English and Science at KS2. 


If you would like more information about the national curriculum and phonics program please visit the Department for Education website using the links below.

 The National CurriculumThe National CurriculumLetters and SoundsLetters and Sounds



St Francesca Cabrini Catholic Primary School, Forest Hill Road, London SE23 3LE - Tel: 020 8699 8862 | Headteacher - Mrs M. Lawton-Quin


This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. Please read our cookie policy for more information.